Travel: Romantic New Orleans Getaway

New Orleans, LA

Photos by Kevin Bury

Two years ago, Kevin and I took a quick weekend trip to New Orleans to celebrate our anniversary. I still think about this trip. I figure if something is still memorable after that many years, other people should know about. If you’re planning a trip to New Orleans, check out these recommendations.

New Orleans, LAWe were only in New Orleans for 2 nights, so we had to see a lot in a short amount of time. Kevin and I are both big fans of walking a city. To give our self-tour a bit more direction and history, I visited Frommer’s to grab some walking tour advice. We combined some of these walking tours so that we could see only the things we found truly interesting. For example, bookstores were a definite must. So, we went to Faulkner House Bookstore in Pirate’s Alley next to St. Louis Cathedral. I was also a fan of Anne Rice’s “Interview With a Vampire,” so we decided to incorporate parts of the Anne Rice tour to see where some of the movie was filmed.

We had briefly driven through the Garden District on a previous trip, so spending some time in this area was a definite must. Plus, it gave us an excuse to take a streetcar. If you’re still good with the Anne Rice theme, you can see the house where she grew up, but all of the homes in this area are amazing, as are the old churches, adorable row houses and the Lafayette Cemetery. The walking tours are actually really great if you love architecture because Frommer’s provides the history of each landmark and touches on specific styles. We learned a lot about the history of New Orleans, its people and ghosts. The walking tours are also free, and we were able to move at our own pace, which is super fast if you know Kevin.

New Orleans, LASome of the best places we discovered on the walking tour were not listed as places to see but cute little shops we stumbled into along the way. For example, we found a quaint record store with a great collection that shipped our purchases right to our home. We also stumbled upon some shops where I located a vegetarian Cajun cookbook and some adorable street sign magnets.


Stay
International House Hotel, a boutique hotel, was possibly one of my favorite hotels. When we arrived, stressed out, we were greeted with complimentary cocktails. Why? Just to celebrate spring. The lobby of this hotel features what can only be described as the largest ottoman in the world. It’s breathtaking. Our room was also unique. I adored the tufted headboard. The hotel is located in the business district—only a short walk from the French Quarter but a world away from the all-night partying. Also, the hotel bar had a great selection of signature cocktails. What more could you ask for?

Food
Croissant D’Or, 617 Ursulines Street
This cute little bakery and lunch spot was recommended by Frommer’s as a place to stop during the walking tour. Maybe it was because I needed to sit down after the beating Kevin put on my legs as we walked a marathon around the city, but I didn’t want to leave this restaurant. I believe we had chocolate croissants, but I don’t really remember. I just remember I loved the window nook seats and food.

Rambla, 217 Camp Street
Attached to the International House Hotel is an amazing tapas restaurant called Rambla. I know; New Orleans is known for Cajun cuisine, of which I’m a huge fan. However, this was the best restaurant we ate at the whole time. The food was reasonably priced, unique, fresh, and delicious. Our server was quick and attentive despite the fact that one of his other tables was an 18-girl bachelorette party. I literally told the guy what I typically drink and he created a cocktail for me. Our dessert had chocolate Pop Rocks in it. Need I go on? Oh yes! I had a plate of beets with goat cheese and a Spanish tortilla with pickled onions. I was in heaven. We went back for breakfast the next day.

New Orleans, LA

Nightlife
One thing I’ve learned from my trips to New Orleans is that Bourbon Street does nothing for me. You’re not getting authentic jazz there; you’re not getting the New Orleans experience at all. It’s a dirty, dangerous (at times) tourist trap. So, if you love jazz, you need to leave the French Quarter and cross over Esplanade. Here you’ll find several jazz clubs, including Snug Harbor and, my favorite, The Spotted Cat (both are located on Frenchman Street, and no one will admit where they are to tourists. So be sure to map these ahead of time). You’ll also find jazz bands playing on the streets, just like what you’d expect in New Orleans. Everyone is having a good time, and it’s hard not to get caught up in the experience.

After we stumbled away from that party, we ended up at a salsa bar. I have no idea where it was, but it was definitely on the trail back to the hotel. This bar was also awesome. I love how you’re just walking along in New Orleans and you get pulled into some random bar or shop, and it’s the BEST place you’ve ever been.

5 comments on “Travel: Romantic New Orleans Getaway

  1. bury says:

    I still remember the one o’clock in the morning little brass band (a tuba, a trombone or two and a trumpet) just jamming in the middle of the street near the Spotted Cat with a crowd of 50+ people jumping and dancing. And Elisha confused a bum with a yellow egg!

  2. Interesting! New Orleans rocks! 🙂

  3. Great photos and post! I’m going to New Orleans soon and can’t wait.

Leave a comment